Home News 8th Annual – SlapShot Cup Hockey Tournament

8th Annual – SlapShot Cup Hockey Tournament

SlapShot Cup 2017 Press Release

The 8th Annual SlapShot Cup Hockey Tournament is kicking off Friday October 20th 2017 and runs until Sunday the 22nd. The event will be held at the Cambria County War Memorial and the North Central Recreation Center in Ebensburg.

The tournament will feature 28 teams, the most in tournament history. In the past 7 years the tournament has seen participation of over 160 teams and more than 2,500 players. Appearances have been made by many former Johnstown Chiefs, NHL players and All Stars, and several former NHL draft picks and NCAA collegiate stars.

The SlapShot Cup will receive international participation, with two teams traveling from Canada and one team from Germany. Piro believes that hockey players from both near and far are excited to play at the First Summit Arena at the Cambria County War Memorial because of its strong ties with the film “Slap Shot”. Additionally, Johnstown’s designation as the first Kraft Hockeyville USA has drawn even more interest in the tournament. Having games at two different locations will provide teams with a variety of game play on two diverse ice surfaces in the region.

The tournament committee is proud to announce that former Pittsburgh Penguin, Tyler Kennedy, will be in attendance Saturday afternoon from 12-2 p.m. to sign autographs and meet players and fans. Kennedy, who played nine seasons in the National Hockey League, was a member of the Penguin’s 2009 Stanley Cup Championship Team.

Every year the tournament honors a person/person’s that can be identified as someone who has influenced the game of hockey in a positive way within the Johnstown Hockey Community. This year, the tournament will honor the Johnstown-Cambria County Student Hockey League along with a special tribute honoring the original founder of the Student Hockey League in 1951, former Police Chief/Detective, Sam Coco. Accepting the award on behalf of his father will be his son, Sammy Coco.

This year the SCHT is also running an Essay Contest for members of the Cambria County Student Hockey League and the winners will receive Johnstown Tomahawks season tickets and a financial contribution to offset the cost of the Student Hockey League yearly assessment.

The tournament will also continue to carry on the legacy of Dave “Ziggy” Zeigler by helping to provide hockey equipment for players that otherwise would not be able to incur the cost to play. A raffle of unique hockey collectors’ items and prizes will be held throughout the tournament. A portion of the proceeds will go towards the Ziggy Foundation.

The SlapShot Cup Hockey Tournament Committee would like to thank all of the sponsors and volunteers. A special thank you goes out to the Delta Chi Fraternity of the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown and the Mission Integration and Community Integration Department of Mount Aloysius College for their volunteer efforts.

For more information, visit our website at: www.slapshotcup.com or Call/Text: 412-616-8907 for more information. You may also find us and follow us on Facebook at: http://facebook.com/slapshotcup

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Check Also

First snowfall of the year in Johnstown

Well, the first snowfall of the year has arrived in Johnstown, PA – For more weather…